Save the Date for 2016:
Skipper's Meeting - January 12
Race Starts - January 13
Awards Party - January 15


Recent Race News:

Photo courtesy of

Great race photos are available by these photographers:

August 26, 2015
The 2016 Notice of Race
The Notice of Race is now posted for the 2016 Fort Lauderdale to Key West race. Mark your calendars!


January 16, 2015
That's a Wrap

Photo courtesy of

All boats are finished in the 40th Annual Ft. Lauderdale to Key West Race. Throughout the fleet, crews stayed busy with sail handling, in the VMG running conditions. The crew on IRC Winner Spookie reported performing about sixty gybes on their way down the course, with their hard work resulting in a nine second win over Line Honors Winner Rambler 88. PHRF D Winner Grand Cru reported a similar experience, as did just about everyone else. Bill Bollin and crew on the Melges 32 Badfish scored a big win in the PHRF Fleet and PHRF A, fending off a big push from the turbocharged Melges 30 Peerless, and showing that there is another Great Lakes legend that heads south for the winter.

Eamonn deLisser and Jim Bill won a fight to the finish on the last tack in their first Ft Lauderdale to Key West Race with their new (to them) Farr 395 Senara. Rating even with and trailing close behind last year's overall winner Dragon Fly Plus, Senara ground the big Swan down on the light uphill climb to the finish. Clearly benefitting from the best looking crew in the fleet (despite Eamonn), Senara closed with a finish to match their stellar start.

Tom Andrews' Hobie 33 "Holy Toledo! enjoyed the conditions, taking the ride down the coast, to a PHRF C Class win, and coveted bragging rights over the other Hobie 33, Mirage.

Tom Reese's Flight Simulator won the Multihull Class (again), over last year's winner Double Trouble. In third was William Rey/Shake-A-Leg's Impossible Dream with a great finish.

After race festivities continue today at the upstairs bar at Turtle Kraals, with the Awards Party beginning at 5:00. Thank you to Lauderdale Yacht Club and Storm Trysail Club for hosting this event for these many years, and thank you to the competitors, who keep coming back year after year. You make the event what it is. May the next 40 Ft Lauderdale to Key West Races be as successful as the first 40.

- SORC Media



Multihull Record Holder:
Custom 60 - Stars and Stripes
Steve and Scott Liebel
8 hours 31 min 4 sec
Stars and Stripes
Photo courtesy of  William E. Spruance
Monohull Record Holder
R/P 81 - Carrera
Joe Dockery
10 hours 24 min 2 sec


Sign up for Email Updates


For Email Marketing you can trust

Lauderdale Yacht Club

Storm Trysail Club

Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race 2016
© All Rights Reserved
Website created
Barr Batzer